Faulkner County Judge Preston Scroggin has been elected to the position of first vice president of the County Judges Association of Arkansas. He will serve a two-year term in this office.

"I am honored to be selected by my peers from the 74 other counties," Scroggin said. "I am ready to serve and looking forward to it."

Scroggin said the position will keep him busy during the next legislative session.

"I will be called upon to do a lot of work at the Capitol in the next session," Scroggin said.

If re-elected in Faulkner County to another term as county judge, Scroggin will be president of the association in two years.

Scroggin was installed into this position by the Honorable Paul Danielson, Justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court, during a ceremony held in conjunction with the County Judges Association of Arkansas annual fall meeting in September at the Pine Bluff Convention Center.

The association is an organization consisting of the 75 county judges of the state. Members hold three meetings per year presenting information through continuing education on national, state, and local issues.

"I am just honored. It was a pleasant surprise," Scroggin said. 

The other newly elected officers of the association include Judge Jimmy Hart of Conway County, president and member-at-large; Judge Jesse Dollars of Greene County, second vice president; Judge Michael Lincoln of White County, secretary/treasurer; and Judge Mike Jacobs of Johnson County, member-at-large.

Scroggin was also re-elected to serve on the executive committee of the association to represent the Central District of the state for another two-year term. Judge Charlie Troutman of Lonoke County was also re-elected to the executive committee.

The County Judges Association of Arkansas is an affiliate organization of the Association of Arkansas Counties. Nine associations fall under the umbrella of the Association of Arkansas Counties. Each of the affiliate associations is represented with two members on the AAC board of directors with the exception of the Cornoners Association which is not represented on board of directors.