Steven Daniels was approved for the position of director of athletics during an executive session at the Tuesday night meeting of the Conway School District’s Board of Education.

Buzz Bolding, former director, announced his intent to retire on Feb. 9.

Daniels is the current assistant principal at the Conway High School-West campus.
Greg Murry, superintendent of the district said it is Daniels’ intent to return to sports capacity in an administrative position.

“Steve was a coach for several years, coaching many sports. We anticipate good things from him,” Murry said. “He moved from sports to administration for the past five years.”

Murry also made the formal announcement to the board of his intent to ask for their approval of a millage increase of 1.9 mills to be put to vote in September.

“We believe this to be appropriate. We’ve done quite a bit of studying. It is not a knee-jerk reaction or a knee-jerk request. We believe this project to be worthwhile,” Murry said. “Our kids deserve better than what they have now.”

Murry told the board that a process with the district’s “patrons” would begin shortly regarding the millage increase and the Sept. 21 voting.

“We will set public meetings for parents and patrons at the end of May. We will begin announcing those soon, and we will go to PTO’s in the fall to speak directly with them,” Murry said.

Murry said the district has received some positive feedback on the increase.

“I don’t believe our millage is out of kilter. We are 131st in the state, out of roughly 240,” Murry said.

If the increase is approved, the district will move from the sixth lowest position of millage rates, to the fifth, just above the Greenbrier School District. 

Approved by the board was the renaming of the Wampus Cat Arena to the Buzz Bolding Arena, in honor of Bolding’s lengthy position as athletic director for Conway Schools.
“I’m not sure there would be a better name for the arena. It represents what Buzz has done for the district,” Murry said.

Also approved by the board was the appropriation of staff and faculty bonuses from the State of Arkansas in the amount of $150,653. The bonuses are a part of a school recognition grant, “High Gains, High Status,” which is awarded to schools for academic achievement in test scores.

The board approved the following resignations:

Sammi Bruich, Claire Crumpler, Kathy Glover, Margaret Grimes, Linda Hargis, Vivian Hogue, Richard Isaacs, Dean King, Clara Martin, Kaye McMillian, Cathryn O’Brien, Emily Peters, Gary White, Peggy Woosley, Karen Crane and Jonathan Shulan.
The Board approved the following election:
Steven Daniels as athletic director.

(Staff writer Courtney Spradlin can be reached by e-mail at or by phone at 505-1236. To comment on this and other stories in the Log Cabin, log on to Send us your news at