75 years ago  


"Can’ts in the liquor law are as follows: You can’t drink liquor in any public place, road house, hotel dining room, highway or street, passenger coach, street car or in a vehicle use for passengers. You can’t telephone a liquor dealer and have him deliver whiskey by messenger. You can’t buy less than a pint or more than a gallon. You can’t consume liquor in the place where purchased. You can’t drink draught beer in a place where liquor is sold. Bottled beer may be purchased in such a place and taken with you. You can’t buy liquor between the hours of 1 and 7 a.m."


50 years ago 


Conway retail merchants voted 73-19, to close their business places on Thursday afternoons during June, July and August. Guy Murphy, manager of the Conway Chamber of Commerce, said he thought all business firms would cooperate with the consensus opinion. The 19 businesses that voted to remain open were The Sherwin-Williams Co., Anderson’s Bailey’s, Conway Shoe Store, West’s Baker Drug Store, Conway Book and Office Supply, Debby-K Tot Shop, Sears Roebuck and Co., Safeway Store, Smith’s Drug Store, Fiddler’s Recreation, Monday-Powell Shoe Store, Ben Franklin’s, Jim Moore Hatchery, Troy Kerby Service Station, Faulkner County Abstract Co., Oak Street Café and Fausett Studio.

More snow began falling today and continued through noon. The high for today is predicted to be 40 degrees.



25 years ago


Erich B. Albet III was among 12 students admitted to the advanced course of study in the Army Reserve Officer Training Course (ROTC) program at the University of Central Arkansas. Albat, junior, was a 1982 graduate of Conway High School. The course could lead to a commission in the Army.

Kelli Freyaldenhoven won the overall title at the gymnastics meet at Fort Smith. She won the all-around title by being second in bars, third in vault and fifth in floor exercises. Melanie Oates finished eighth in the beam; Amy Matchett was eighth in the vault and eighth in floor exercises. Lisa Bruce was 10th in the vault.



10 years ago 


The Pilot Club held its annual Share Pilot Party at the home of Pat Stuff. The home was decorated with a Mardi Gras theme. Members and guests dressed in costumes and were entertained with Cajun Zydeco music. Mrs. Stuff and Patty Montgomery presented a skit titled, "Who Wants to Be a Pilot?" Phyllis Graddy, Carolyn Lewis, Michelle McKown and Terry Rowlett won prizes. The meal included red beans and rice with King cake. Guests were Diane Atkins, Phyllis Graddy, Tricia Klesner, Angela Ladd, Lisa Lawrence, Connie May, Pat Struthers and Tammy Weaver.

Five students in grades 5-8 were named winners for their grade level in the Quitman Spelling Bee. The winners were Matthew Morgan, Mallory Vaughan, Mallory Jackson, Jack Vaughan and Zack Vaughan. The runners-up were Ryan Haley, Christopher Girard, Janna Passmore and Jake Smith.