The Conway School District will proceed with the 2010-11 school year with 15 administration changes. 

The Conway School Board of Education recognized new administrative team members who were present at the Board’s monthly meeting Tuesday night.

"In the last couple of months we’ve seen a lot of administration changes, more changes than usual," Greg Murry, superintendent, said. "Out of 15 schools, 12 of them have changes in their administrative staff."

Conway High School-West saw changes in both principals and assistant principals. Joel Linn will be principal, and Larry Smith and Ferris Jackson were added as assistant principals.

Conway High School-East will welcome Ben Broyles as principal and Nick Newman as assistant principal.

Bob Courtway Middle School principal will be Karen Lasker, and Amy Jordan will join Tom Voegele as an assistant principal.

Ed Franklin was hired as dean of students at Ruth Doyle Intermediate School.

Simon Intermediate’s new dean of students will be Kenny Smith, and Renee Bennett will serve as principal.

Woodrow Cummins Elementary will welcome Dayna Coleman as an assistant principal.

Sallie Cone Elementary will welcome Tina Antley as principal.

Amy Crow will serve as assistant principal at Florence Mattison Elementary, and Lisa Wood at Theodore Jones Elementary.

Steve Daniels will serve as the district’s athletic director.

The Board approved an amendment to the East and West campus’ exam policy that would require all students to take end-of-semester exams for the first semester.

The exams will count as 14 percent of students’ final grades and will be approved by respective principals.

Conway High School-West Principal Joel Linn said that a committee was formed between the East and West campuses to determine the appropriate course of action.

"When we polled, we saw stark differences between the East and West campuses," Linn said. "We came up with a hybrid situation. All agreed we needed a culminating activity for the end of a course."

The proposal states that no students will take exams at the end of the second semester, but the semester will conclude with a culminating project or activity.

"We already give multiple exams in the second semester," Linn said.

The second semester includes module exams, AP exams and end-of-course testing.

The Board accepted the following resignations: Tori Miller, Debbie Young, Sherry Haywood, Cole Cody, Aaron French, LeAnn Sears, Kim Starr, Mary York, Melynda Rea, Charina Wroten, Feather Linn and Kay Scharf.

The Board accepted the following elections: Dayna Coleman, Allison Mizell, Amy Crow, Peggy Woosley, Mollie Teas, Tracy McAllister, Elizabeth Canady, Rebecca Burke Haney, Lindsey Shock, Nathan Howse, Megan Moore, Melinda Francis, Katherine Flanders, Damara Wilcutt, Juanita Darkis, Courtney Davis, Monda Fason, Cole Vann, Lee Tyus, Terrance Tatum, Tim Trent and Mary Alice Smith.

(Staff writer Courtney Spradlin can be reached by e-mail at or by phone at 505-1236. To comment on this and other stories in the Log Cabin, log on to Send us your news at