The Faulkner County Quorum Court’s November meeting was reconvened Tuesday night to set the county’s millage rate.

The Quorum Court voted to keep the tax rate the same with no increase except for those in the City of Conway. A 1.9-mill increase was passed in September to support new high school construction on the West campus and other needs for the growing district.

Following little discussion on Tuesday night, the Faulkner County Quorum Court approved its 2011 budget, a total nearing $30 million.

Budget details will be forthcoming in January.

In other business, Jason Walsh was reappointed to the Public Facilities Board.

The court also approved the application for a grant from the Central Arkansas Planning and Development District to provide some funding for 21 nonprofit agencies in the county.

Salutations and plaques were given the four justices of the peace leaving the Quorum Court.

Jerry Park has served since 2003; Jerry Roberts since 2007; Jimmy Bryant since 2003; and Diana Kellar since 2001.

County Judge Preston Scroggin thanked each justice for their service and their friendship.

"When you go through what we go through, we become friends," Scroggin said.

In turn, the JPs thanked their constituents and agreed with Roberts who said: "There are no party lines in here. When we disagree, it’s respectfully."

New justices and other elected county officials will be sworn in at 10 a.m. Saturday in Courtroom "A" of the Faulkner County Courthouse.

A prayer service is scheduled for 8 a.m. in the Cooper Complex at Central Baptist College. All elected officials are invited.

(Becky Harris can be reached at 505-1234 or by e-mail at