Chad Ernest Brown of Conway was one of the graduates from the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine, which conferred 75 doctor of veterinary medicine degrees at its 35th annual veterinary medicine commencement exercises on Monday. Michael Groves, DVM, MPH, PhD, DACVPM, dean emeritus of the LSU SVM, gave the commencement address at the ceremony. 

Dean Peter F. Haynes presided over the ceremony, and Dr. John Maxwell Hamilton, LSU provost, conferred the degrees. Chad Brown (Class of 2011) opened the ceremony with the invocation. Program speakers included Clifford Vannoy, senior vice president of the LSU Alumni Association; Dr. Wendy Wolfson (LSU SVM 1986), representing the School of Veterinary Medicine alumni; and Dr. Josh Smith (LSU SVM 1989), president of the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association.

Haynes led the graduates in taking the Veterinarian’s Oath, adopted by the American Veterinary Medical Association in 1969. Jake Thibeaux (Class of 2011) closed the ceremony with the benediction.