75 years ago  


A conference of Central district Baptist Women’s Missionary societies was held at the First Baptist church with Second Baptist and Pleasant Grove societies as joint hosts Friday in an all-day meeting. About 200 members of this district attended.

Mrs. Fritz E. Goodbar, president of Central district, presided and introduced the following speakers: Mrs. Myrtle Criseman of Nashville, Tenn.; Mrs. C. H. Ray, state president of W. M. S., Little Rock; Miss Margaret Hutchison and Mrs. R.C. Rudisill of Little Rock.

Luncheon was served at noon by the three local societies.


50 years ago 


J.D. Bollen, Faulkner County school supervisor, recently attended a fire inspectors’ training conference at Little Rock.

The purpose of the conference was to train county school supervisors from throughout Arkansas in the modern methods of fire prevention and control, ways to improve and expand the school fire marshall program and to familiarize officials with recent state legislation relating to this matter.

Bollen and Faulkner schools desiring assistance in making periodic safety inspections should contact him or the Conway Fire Department.

25 years ago


St. Joseph basketball players Matt Enderlin and Tim Freyaldenhoven joined Eddie Webb in hanging a framed team picture on a wall recently in the St. Joseph gymnasium. Bunny Adcock, vice president and business development officer at First National Bank, which donated the picture, assisted the players. The picture commemorates a Class B state championship for the Bulldogs last season. Class B teams in Falkner County have already begun drills in preparation for a season that begins next month.

10 years ago 


Marion Sibert, Greenbrier High School EAST instructor, has been selected Greenbrier School District Teacher of the Year. The Department of Education and the Walton Foundation are sponsoring a statewide Teacher of the Year recognition program. The department will recognize one teacher from each of the 15 regional service cooperatives as regional Teacher of the Year finalists. Each of those teachers will receive a cash award of $1,000. From the regional finalists, four teachers will be selected as state Teacher of the Year semifinalists. The selection panel will visit each of these classrooms prior to naming the 2002 Arkansas Teacher of the Year, who will receive a $14,000 cash award.