A string of success by Conway female golfers continued this week in high school and college golf in two different tournaments.

Conway’s Mary Michael Maggio, playing in her first major college tournament after transferring from LSU to Texas A&M, finished fifth overall at the Mason Rudolph College Preview at Franklin, Tenn.

St. Joseph’s Heather Moix won the Class 2A girls state title at Stonelinks Golf Course in North Little Rock.

Tuesday, Conway’s Summar Roachell won her third straight 7A title at Fayetteville.

Both Moix and Roachell earned berths in the state girls Overall on Oct. 13 at Pleasant Valley Country Club.


Maggio had rounds of even-par 72, 73, 72, to finish seventh overall at the Vanderbilt Legends Club, site of next year’s NCAA tournament. Her first-day total tied her for second.

Texas A&M, ranked 16th nationally, rallied from ninth place to tie North Carolina for fifth. UCLA won the tournament, followed by Alabma, Arizona State and Virginia.


Although the Lady Bulldogs’ streak of five straight Class 2A golf titles ended, Moix prevailed for the individual championship, something she lost by one stroke last year at The Greens at Nutters Chapel.

Moix had it easily this time, winning by seven strokes over Horatio’s Peyton Stafford. She shot an 8-over 80.

Eureka Springs won the team title at 296. Buffalo Island Central was second at 298. St. Joseph was third at 313.

Other scores for the Lady Bulldogs were: Hannah Rehm, 112; Melissa Hambuchen, 122,


The Lady Eagles finished sixth overall at 349. Breanna Keith finished seventh overall at 97. Sidney Meriweather came in at 121, Reagan Coffey at 131 and Allison Lea at 141.


Two Hall of Famers commit to Steve 

Strange roast




A star-studded group of roasters and toasters have committed to the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame’s salute Thursday, Oct. 27, to Conway businessman Steve Strange Sr.

Called the "Roast & Toast of Big Steve," the event will begin at 6 p.m. in McCastlain Hall on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas. Tickets for the dinner are $150 each and tables of 10 can be obtained for $1,500. 

Among those who will be speaking at next month’s dinner are former basketball star Joe Kleine, former football star Keith Jackson, former football coach Larry Lacewell and recording artist Johnny Lee. Kleine, Jackson and Lacewell are past inductees into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame.

"This promises to be a fun evening," said Hall of Fame executive director Ray Tucker, who will serve as the master of ceremonies for the event. "Steve has done so much for sports in Arkansas in general and the Hall of Fame in particular. We’re delighted to be able to honor him." 

Last fall, the organization used a fall salute to honor Kleine, an assistant basketball coach at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Two years ago, the Hall of Fame honored former Razorback football star and northwest Arkansas business leader Jim Lindsey during a dinner at Springdale. 

The chairman of this year’s fall event is another well-known Arkansas business leader, John Allison,  chairman of Home BancShares.

Strange, a Hendrix College graduate, is the longtime president of American Management Corp. of Conway.

"This will be an evening to celebrate Steve’s birthday and his many years as a businessman, civic leader and philanthropist," Allison said. "AMC was recently purchased by one of the largest holding companies in the insurance business. AMC was founded 70 years ago with Steve taking the helm in 1984. Through his hard work and service-oriented business plan, AMC grew. The AMC divisions serve insurance carriers, petroleum companies, franchise operations and independent insurance brokers and agents. Through Steve’s leadership, hundreds of jobs have been created, contributing significantly to economic development and quality of life in Conway and the surrounding region."

Tickets are $150 each and $1,500 for tables of 10. Checks should be made out to the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and can be mailed to Ray Tucker, Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, 3 Verizon Arena Way, North Little Rock, 72114.

Further information can be obtained from Catherine Johnson at (501) 821-1021 or cjafund@swbell.net.A