University of Arkansas offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Garrick McGee is one of five finalists for the Broyles Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top assistant coach.

McGee coordinates the UA offense that leads the SEC in total offense, passing offense and first downs and is second in scoring offense. The Razorbacks’ average of 307.8 passing yards per game ranks 12th in the NCAA. Their average of 37.4 points per game ranks 14th in the nation while their average of 445.8 yards of total offense per game is 28st in the country and their average of 22.2 first downs per game is tied for 33rd in the NCAA.

This year, quarterback Tyler Wilson became the second Razorback to throw for more than 3,000 yards in a season, a feat before only accomplished by Ryan Mallett, who surpassed the mark in 2009 and 2010 with McGee as his quarterbacks coach. 

Other finalists, selected by a 10-member panel of legendary former coaches, are: John Chavis, Louisiana State University, defensive coordinator; Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin, offensive Coordinator/quarterbacks; Greg Mattison, Michigan, defensive coordinator; Sal Sunseri, Alabama, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers.

The winner of the Broyles Award will be announced Dec. 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock. The Broyles Award is presented by the Rotary Club of Little Rock and was established in 1996 to honor former Arkansas head coach Frank Broyles.