Local parole and probation officer Marcus Lovin was sworn in Monday as the newest member of the Eastern Arkansas Fugitive Task Force from the Arkansas Department of Community Correction.

Lovin took an oath of office before United States Marshal Clifton T. Massanelli of the Eastern District of Arkansas.

Lovin holds a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, and has worked in DCC’s Conway office since April 2010, where his primary job duty is to monitor registered sex offenders.

The task force is led by the United States Marshal Service and targets federal and state fugitives with violent criminal histories, including suspects wanted for homicide, robbery, aggravated assault, sexual assault and failure to comply with the Sex Offender Registration Notification Act.

The force is comprised of officers with DCC, Little Rock Police Department, North Little Rock Police Department, and special agents from the Office of Inspector General and Secret Service.

Since January 2012, task force members have arrested 278 violent offenders in Eastern Arkansas.

(Megan Reynolds is a staff writer and can be reached by e-mail at megan.reynolds@thecabin.net or by phone at 501-505-1277. Follow us on Twitter @lcdonline.)