Students from various areas within the University of Central Arkansas Department of Music were honored during the fall 2012 semester.

"We are excited to see how our current students are continuing the long tradition of excellence in research and performance," said Jeff Jarvis, chairman of the Department of Music. "Over the years, UCA music students have been leaders on and off campus as they share their talents. Our faculty are proud of the students we attract and proud of the strong work ethic they demonstrate while studying here."

Senior Jonathan Pillow, vocal performance major, placed second in the Senior Men’s Division of the Regional National Association of Teachers of Singing competition in Baton Rouge, La.

Freshman Mallory Brooks, music education major from Conway, won the Arkansas Music Teachers National Conference Senior Woodwinds Division, playing the saxophone. Sophomore Simona Donova, music performance major from Varna, Bulgaria, won the Young Artist Division, Arkansas MTNA, playing the flute. Senior Kayla Copeland, music education major from Greenbrier, was selected for the ARIA International Summer Academy of summer 2012 and honorable mention, Young Artist Division, Arkansas MTNA, playing the flute.

Freshman Dalton Shaffer, music education major, won the MTNA Senior Brass Division, playing the euphonium. Senior Mary Cowperthwait, music education major, was selected as alternate in the Young Artist Division, Arkansas MTNA, playing the tuba.

Graduate music education students Leslyn Jacks and Brent Gunnels presented their research study, "A Description of Sight-reading Practices in Arkansas Secondary Choral Programs," at the Arkansas Music Educators Association Fall Conference. Jacks also presented her research study, "Effects of Gender and Socioeconomic Status on Student Motivation in a Choral Setting."

Also at the conference, graduate music education student Nancy Summit presented her research study, "Impact of Listening Model Quality on Self-Evaluation Accuracy in 8th-Grade Instrumentalists."

Music education majors Aubrey Hoult and Emma Ockerman received Student Undergraduate Research Fellowship Grants. Hoult’s research study, "A Comparison of Facial Muscle Activation Between Vocalists and Instrumentalists," will be presented at the 2013 Texas Music Educators Association conference. Ockerman formed a volunteer hand-bell choir of UCA students and Conway community members. They will perform with the Central Arkansas Children’s Choir in the spring 2013.

Arkansas Intercollegiate Band, consisting of 12 UCA students, was selected to the 2013 Arkansas Intercollegiate Band. The AIB is an honor collegiate band made up of the top band students from Arkansas universities and performs at the Arkansas All-State band, choir and orchestra convention with a nationally known conductor. Participation is by selection from nominations of the top 10 percent of students from each university. Those selected included Kristin Caserta, Elizabeth Blevins, Daniel Detogni, Layla Butler, Kaleb Knight, Barrett Parten, Baylee Elkins, Daniel Rousseau, Ethan Shaw, Eric Liu, Nathan Reynolds and Drew Morales.

For more information about the UCA Department of Music, call 450-3163 or visit www.uca.edu/music.