LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Human Services has selected 12 cities and towns in Arkansas as recipients of the 2013 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year award.

Murfreesboro, Vilonia, Redfield, Bentonville, Blytheville, Clarendon, Clarkridge, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Heber Springs, Norfork and Van Buren will receive the awards.

DHS Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support director Sherry Middleton says the cities demonstrated a commitment to helping fellow citizens and the community.

The awards will be presented during the Arkansas Municipal League’s Winter Conference in January in Rogers.

The awards are sponsored by the governor’s office, the Arkansas Municipal League and the Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support. The Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department provides signs announcing the awards at prominent locations along highways outside of the winning cities.