Dec. 31 is the final day to nominate individuals for the first Conway Public Schools Foundation’s Hall of Honor, and CPSF board members are getting prepared to go through the nominations to choose honorees at their March gala.

The Hall of Honor was recently established to recognize Conway Public School supporters — including former students, faculty, administrators and community leaders — who have made significant contributions to the school system.

CPSF Board Member Aaron Knight said the foundation has received about 25 nominations so far.

"We feel like that’s a respectable nomination pool for the first year," he said, but they are welcoming more through Tuesday.

There are three categories for the nominations: Alumni, educators and friends of the district.

An alumnus must be a Conway Public Schools graduate or someone who completed a substantial portion of his or her education in the district. He or she must also be at least 30 years old. The alumnus honoree would have notable scholastic or professional achievements and has served as a positive reflection of the district’s mission to produce forward-thinking and innovative men and women.

A nominee in the educator category must be five years removed from employment with CPS and must have made a substantial positive impact on students and colleagues during his or her time with the system.

A friend of CPS must be a current or former member of the Conway or CPS community, at least 30 years old who has positively enriched the educational environment or advanced the educational mission of the district.

Once all of the nominations are received, there will be a five-person selection committee to narrow down the choices. The honorees will then be announced at the Hall of Honor Gala on March 13.

The gala, Knight said, will also highlight students in the district.

"It will really be a recognition of the district and who makes the district great," he said.

Honorees will receive awards at the gala, and a permanent display of bronze plaques will be posted in the James H. Clark Auditorium lobby, which will chronicle honorees throughout the years.

Nominations can be submitted online at

(Staff writer Angela Spencer can be reached by email at or by phone at 505-1212. To comment on this and other stories in the Log Cabin, log on to Send us your news at