Conway Public Schools Foundation will hold its inaugural Hall of Honor Gala on Thursday, March 13, at 7 p.m. at the Conway High School cafeteria to celebrate outstanding alumni, faculty, administrators and community leaders who have made significant and lasting contributions to Conway Public Schools.

The 2014 Hall of Honor Inductees include University of Central Arkansas President Tom Courtway, former Conway Public Schools Superintendent Ray Simon and the late science educator A.C. Anderson, Jr.

The keynote speaker for the event will be Arkansas Department of Higher Education Director Shane Broadway. Broadway served three terms in the Arkansas House of Representatives and was elected twice to the Arkansas Senate, where he served on the Senate Education Committee. Broadway was appointed by Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe to the Southern Regional Education Advisory Board in 2007 and was named interim Department of Higher Education Director in 2011.

Jeff Matthews of Little Rock radio station B98.5 and host for Conway Corporation’s Wampus Cat football coverage will serve as the master of ceremonies as guests enjoy a delicious meal prepared by Chef Jill McCollum.

Gala sponsorships and tickets are available. For more information visit

Conway Public Schools Foundation is a non-profit foundation created to enhance and support the educational mission of the Conway Public Schools.

Proceeds from the Gala support the foundation’s mission to partner with teachers to enrich the learning environment for students by funding innovative programs and resources that stimulate creativity, promote excellence, and enable life-long learning. To date, the foundation has awarded more than $10,000 in classroom and student enrichment grants.

Tom Courtway — Distinguished Alumni

Tom Courtway, a 1971 Conway High School graduate, is the 10th president of the University of Central Arkansas. He is an alumnus of Hendrix College, the University of Arkansas School of Law and Georgetown University. Courtway practiced law for several years and previously served as UCA general counsel and interim president, vice president of Hendrix College, interim director of the Arkansas Department of Education, and served three terms in Arkansas House of Representatives.

A.C. Anderson — Distinguished Educator

A 1941 graduate of the University of North Texas, A.C. Anderson worked as a chemist in the Texas oil fields after graduation and served in the U.S. Army during World War II. He and his wife Mildred opened Anderson’s Paint and Wallpaper in Conway. Having taught in the Rio Grande Valley and Little Rock’s Joe T. Robinson School, Anderson joined the Conway School District in 1963 and retired in 1991. He died in Memphis, Tenn., in 2008.

Ray Simon — Friend of the District

Conway native Ray Simon is the former United States Deputy Secretary of Education. Simon began his career as a mathematics teacher at North Little Rock High School and directed computer and food services before he returned to Conway Public Schools as assistant superintendent for finance and later as superintendent from 1991 to 1997. Raymond & Phyllis Simon Middle School in Conway is named for Ray and his wife Phyllis.