The Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police recognized Senator Jason Rapert today at their 47th Annual Convention with the ‘Legislator of the year’ award at the Hot Springs Convention Center. Conway Police Chief A.J. Gary made the presentation of the award.

"I am very honored and humbled to be given this award by the men and women who stand on the font lines for our safety and the security of our communities everyday. As we remember all the brave law enforcement officers and firefighters who lost their lives while trying to rescue others on 9/11, I want to thank all of you for serving to protect us everyday.

Rapert accepted the award in honor of his relative, former Sheriff Bill Rapert of Randolph County Arkansas, who was shot in the line of duty during an arrest while serving as a Pocahontas police officer many years ago. Bill Rapert survived the incident and went on to serve several terms as the Randolph County Sheriff. Sen. Rapert has many family members who have served in law enforcement in Arkansas as police officers, sheriffs and troopers with the Arkansas State Police.

The Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police (AACP) is a non-profit organization dedicated to producing the highest level of law enforcement possible. The AACP accomplishes this through equipping current police executives and promoting the science of police administration and crime prevention.

Sen. Rapert is running for re-election to his current senate seat in District 35. He is Chairman of the Insurance & Commerce Committee and Chairman of the ALC-Medicaid & Hospital Subcommittee.