David McCollum, a 30-year veteran of the Log Cabin Democrat staff, and Mike Harrison, the head of KASR radio and the Creative Sports Network, will be the sixth inductees into the Arkansas Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame at Saturday night’s induction banquet at the Centennial Special Events Center.

McCollum has won more than 190 awards for his writing and reporting while working for both the Log Cabin Democrat, the Arkansas Democrat and The Orange Leader in Texas.

Harrison, who has a collection of more than 26,000 tapes from various news conferences, interviews and sporting events, has broadcast a wide variety of events during a long career that have included high school, college and professional competitions.

The inductees were determined by vote of members of the Arkansas Sports Club and the state’s media.

Also to be honored are Dallas Cowboys general manager Jerry Jones, lifetime achievement; Doretta Bright, Arkansas Sports Club Member of the Year, and the familes of the late Eulis England and Buddy Coleman, service awards.

The event will begin with a meet and great at 5:30 p.m. Dinner begins at 6 p.m. and the induction ceremony begins at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $45 each.

New University of Central Arkansas Sugar Bear coach Sandra Rushing will be introduced at a meet-and-greet from 5-6:30 p.m. Tuesday at Mike’s Place in downtown Conway.

The event will be an informal occasion for the public to get acquainted with Rushing, who comes to UCA after a highly successful tenure at Delta State.

There is no admission charge and the public is invited.

Both the Hendrix College men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams received College Swimming Coaches Association of America Scholar All-American Team Awards for spring 2012.

Under head coach Jim Kelly, both teams have won the award all 48 semesters since its inception in 1988.

The men’s squad recorded a 3.38 cumulative grade-point average, the 19th highest among NCAA Division III schools. The women carried a 3.21 GPA.

The CSCAA Scholar All-American Team Award is presented to college and university swimming and diving teams, who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher.