FRISCO, Texas — The University of Central Arkansas had three players named to the All-Southland Conference women's golf teams on Thursday, including the SLC Freshman of the Year.

Senior Fernanda Lira and junior Emma Svensson were first-team All-SLC selections, while freshman Geraldine Wong was a second-team choice and was also named the SLC Freshman of the Year.

UCA's three selections were the most in the conference.

UCA has now won three of the past four freshman of the year awards, including Lira in 2015 and Svensson in 2016.

"With her scoring average at 75, to come in as a freshman and be able to do that is quite an accomplishment,” UCA coach Natasha Vincent said. "Especially when she had a few rounds that weren't really true to her game. I'm very proud of her for that.

"With Fernanda and Emma, it was expected. They both played really well this year. If you look at what Fernanda's scoring average was when she first got here as a freshman, and then see how much that kid has improved... it's been pretty phenomenal. I just think Emma is bound to do great things in her golf career, so I wasn't too surprised by either of those awards. I'm proud of all three of these young ladies.”

Lira and Svensson are three-time All-SLC honorees and both were selected Wednesday to play in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional on May 7 through 9.

Wong finished sixth in the SLC in scoring average in her first season at UCA at 75.0 strokes per round.

Lira, from Mexico City, Mexico, finished third at last week's SLC Championship, shooting 75-73-75.

Svensson, from Halmstad, Sweden, finished fourth, while Wong, from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, was 10th.

UCA finished as runner-up for the SLC championship.

Svensson averaged 73.2 strokes per round this season and won two tournaments.

She will be playing in her second NCAA Tournament.

Lira averaged 73.3 strokes and had six Top 10 finishes this season.

Each league school’s head coach and sports information director votes the SLC All-Conference teams and individual superlatives on. Voting for oneself or one's own athletes is not permitted.

2017-18 Southland Women's Golf All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Hanna Alberto, Sam Houston State

Freshman of the Year: Geraldine Wong, Central Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year: Eva Martinez, Lamar

Coach of the Year: David Shuster, Houston Baptist


Hannah Alberto - Sam Houston State

Emma Svensson - Central Arkansas

Kaity Cummings - Houston Baptist

Fernanda Lira - Central Arkansas

Elodie Chapelet - Lamar


Lexi Brooks - Houston Baptist

Jenna Phillips - Sam Houston State

Geraldine Wong - Central Arkansas

Autumn Bynum - Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Eva Martinez – Lamar