The board of the Wampus Cat Sports Hall of Fame met recently to select the inaugural class of inductees.

The 2019 inductees are Marvin Delph, Henry Hawk, Tim Horton, Julie Jiskra Seymour, Greg Lasker, Mike Neuhofel, Mike New, J.B. Pendergraft, Lawson Pilgrim, Ernest Ruple, Kenny Smith and Dandra Thomas.

That is an amazing group of 12 Conway High legends.

Going forward, classes will be limited to six, but the board decided to double up this first year, given the backlog of deserving candidates.

The inaugural induction banquet will be held May 16, 2019.

Tickets go on sale early next year.

Delph led the Wampus Cats to state basketball championships in 1973 and 1974.

As a Razorback, he was twice All-SWC and a member of the famous “Triplets” who led the Hogs to the 1978 NCAA Final Four.  

Hawk was an all-state footballer in 1955.

He went to UCA where he was All-AIC in football and track.

He then had a successful coaching career and has been a world-class distance runner for decades.

Horton was an all-state running back in 1984 and 1985 and also an all-state sprinter.

He played football at Arkansas where he was team captain as a senior.

He is currently an assistant coach at Auburn.

Jiskra helped CHS win state track championships in 1986 and 1987 and a state cross-country title in 1986.

She ran track and cross-country for Rice, earning All-American honors.

Lasker led the Wampus Cats to the 1981 state track championship as all-state sprinter. He played safety for the Razorbacks and was All-SWC in 1985.

Drafted by New York in 1986, he won a Super Bowl with the Giants.

Neuhofel was a high school All-American swimmer.

He swam at Arkansas where he was a ten-time All-American.

He was a finalist at the U.S. Olympic Trials and won a silver medal at the 1987 PanAm Games in 50-meter freestyle.

New was an all-state quarterback in 1967 and 1968 and all-state basketball in 1968.

He played in the 1969 all-star football game.

He signed a football scholarship with Arkansas, but later transferred to UCA.

Pendergraft was named all-state basketball in 1963 and all-state football in 1964 and 1965.

He played in the 1966 all-star football game.

He was member of the Wampus Cats’ 1964 state championship football team and went on to play at UCA. 

Pilgrim was an all-state basketballer for the Cats.

He played on the 1974 state title team and on the undefeated 1976 state overall champions.

He led Hendrix to AIC titles in 1980 and 1981 and was named first-team NAIA All-American in 1981.

Ruple was all-state in football in 1962.

He played tackle at Arkansas where he was team captain and All-SWC as a senior. He played in the NFL for the Pittsburgh Steelers then returned to CHS as head football coach from 1975-76.

Smith was the football coach at his alma mater from 1991-2008.

He is the longest tenured football coach in CHS history.

He had six conference championships and 13 playoff appearances.

His 129 wins are a school record.

Thomas was all-state in basketball and volleyball and played in all-star volleyball game in 1994.

She originally signed to play basketball at Oral Roberts, but later returned home to play basketball and volleyball at UCA.