WACO, Texas — University of Central Arkansas freshman  Brooke Cassar turned in a seventh-place finish at Friday’s NCAA South Central Cross Country Regional held at Cottonwood Creek Golf Course.

Cassar, from Woonona, New South Wales, Australia, broke her own school record and finished in a time of  20:32.5. Cassar won the Southland Conference championship two weeks ago in Lake Charles, La., in a school-record 20:42.1.
UCA senior Erika Setzler of Conway, third at the SLC meet, finished 18th in a time of 21:06.3 on Friday.  Senior Kayla Nehus of Little Rock was 59th (21:06.3), while freshman Brigette Caruthers was 65th (22:27.9).  Graduate student Megan Effinger was 104th (23:30.8) while sophomore Madison Sewell was 106th (23:30.8). Freshman Briana Stuepfert finished 124th (24:36.0) for UCA.

Arkansas won the regional with 33 points, followed by SMU (116), Texas A&M (116), Texas (132), UTSA (154), Baylor (162), Lamar (190), Arkansas State (225), North Texas (242), UCA (244), Rice (256), UT Arlington (296), Stephen F. Austin (336), Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (386), Houston Baptist (431), Houston (456), LSU (473), UL Lafayette (492, Tulane (509) and New Orleans (626).
For the men's team, a top 20 performance from senior Edward Limo pushed the Bears to an 11th-place finish.

Limo, a senior from Eldoret, Kenya, finished the 10K course 30:59.4, just one second off his school record set at last year’s regional. Senior Amos Gerber of Hot Springs came in 44th place in a time of 31:45.3, while junior Jonathan Burgess was 61st in 32:18.9. Sophomore Corentin Louis finished 67th (32:29.4), while freshman Grant Williams was 79th (32:44.5).

Sophomore Albert Maeder was 115th in 33:53.3, followed by Ryan Davidson in 116th (33:54.9).

Arkansas won the event with 34 points, followed by Texas (37),  Lamar (110), Stephen F. Austin (154), Rice (167), North Texas (185), Texas A&M (217), UT Arlington (221), Baylor (239), Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (249), Houston (271), UCA (271), UALR (317), Sam Houston State (413), Houston Baptist (417), UL Monroe (429), LSU (449), UTSA (454), Arkansas State (483), Tulane (607) and Southeastern Louisiana (633).