The Wampus Cat Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors recently met to select the class of 2020.

This is the second year for the WCHOF to honor former Conway High School athletes and coaches.

The class of 2020 inductees are: Raymond Bright, Joe Graham, Justin Hargis, Rick Kersey, Mary Michael Maggio Witherell and Austin Sullivan.

Bright coached the Wampus Cats to state track championships in 1953, 1954 and 1957.

He was head football coach at Conway from 1951-57 with a record of 46-28-1 with five winning seasons.

He later coached football and track at UCA, winning AIC titles in both.

Bright was inducted into the UCA Sports Hall of Fame, Arkansas Track & Field Hall of Fame and the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. 

Graham served as basketball coach at CHS from 1976-2000 compiling a record of 447-263.

His 1976 squad went 36-0 and won the AAA state championship and overall title.

They also finished as state runner-up four times. 

His teams won nine conference titles and made the state playoffs 19 times.

He also coached the boys golf team to state titles in 1978 and 1982.

Graham was inducted into the Arkansas High School Coaches Hall of Fame. 

Hargis won the Frank E. Robins Award in 1994 for outstanding senior male athlete.

He was named all-state football and baseball and played in both sports’ all-star games. A quarterback and safety, he led the Wampus Cats to the 1993 state football runner-up finish.

Friday Night Lights named him Arkansas Player of the Year as a senior.

On the diamond, he led Conway to state runner-up finishes in 1993 and 1994.

Hargis played football and baseball at UCA.

Kersey was a member of the Wampus Cats’ 1964 state championship football team.

In track, he threw the shot put. He was a three-year letterman at the University of Arkansas from 1968-70 at defensive end.

He played in the famous “Big Shootout” game of the century against the Texas Longhorns in 1969.

Kersey earned All-SWC honors in 1969 and was named to the Razorback’s all-decade team of the 1960’s. 

Maggio won the Ruth Doyle Award in 2009 for outstanding senior female athlete.

Four years she was named an all-state golfer and was the state overall medalist in 2006 and 2007.

In 42 high school matches, she was medalist 37 times and runner-up in the other five.

The American Junior Golf Association named her an All-American in 2009.

Maggio played at Texas A&M, earning All-Big 12 honors as a junior when she won the 2012 Big 12 Championship.  

Sullivan played on the 1974 AAA state championship basketball team and on the undefeated 1976 state overall champion team.

He was named all-state in 1975 and 1976 and played in the all-star game.

A 5-foot-9 point guard, the Arkansas Democrat named him the state player of the year in 1976.

He was a four-year letterman at Hendrix, leading the Warriors in assists all four seasons and led the AIC in 1979.

Sullivan was inducted into the Hendrix Sports Hall of Honor.

The WCSHOF induction banquet will be held May 21, 2020. Tickets will go on sale early next year.

Proceeds raised from the banquet will be used by the Wampus cat Booster Club to further enhance Conway High School athletics.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.