Eight Conway High School seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists today in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.Joseph R. Coker, Zelda M. Engeler-Young, Megan R. Haase, Kate M. Lange, Eric D. Pinter, Gary (Nick) Stillwell, Jillian Tang, and Kevin Trickey are 2017 National Merit Semifinalists. "This is a reflection of our school community, the teachers, counselors, parents, and everyone else involved with these students," says Conway High School Principal Jason Lawrence. "Their focus, determination, and willingness to go above and beyond is incredible. I am really proud of these young men and women. They have great things ahead of them." These eight students now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $33 million dollars. The semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to go on to become a finalist. 90 percent of the semifinalists will attain finalist standing, with half of the finalists winning a merit scholarship. Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry says the district is beyond proud of these outstanding students. "Conway Public Schools continues to produce a significant number of National Merit Scholars," says Murry. "The accomplishments of these students stands as a testament to their personal determination and the great work that all of our teachers and staff do every day in our classrooms."The students qualified for this distinction by taking the Preliminary SAT /National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and scoring in the top one percent of the nation. The number of semi-finalists in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. This year there are approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the nation.